What are you waiting for, register to join now (it's free): CLICK HERE

Author Topic: Need advice about some tricky timing issues  (Read 2060 times)

Offline SBWeiss

• Posting Member
  • PC Status: Applicant
Need advice about some tricky timing issues
« on: October 31, 2013, 04:19:56 PM »
I am a 59-year-old nominee currently in the Medical/Legal screening process.  I am hoping to being my service in Summer/Fall 2014 but am concerned that the medical screening is going to take a while.

Here's my dilemma.  I am a college professor and my teaching obligations are Sept-Dec and mid-Jan to mid-May.  I am off during the summer.  I am willing to be unemployed for 4-6 weeks before leaving for service....so I could take a placement as late as mid-October if needed.  But...unless that were a sure thing I would need to start teaching again in the fall semester and then I wouldn't be available until early January.

So, there are two issues here.  One is that my availability is "lumpy".  The other is that I hear stories of placements that fall through and I can't afford to quit my job, have a placement fall through and then be unemployed.

One of the problems with the application process is that it is "nameless and faceless" -- there is no case manager with whom to discuss these issues.  Any thoughts on how to address this?

Thanks.

Offline Amelia.Plant

• Leading Member
    • MASA
  • PC Status: RPCV
Re: Need advice about some tricky timing issues
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2013, 07:31:05 AM »
Hi,