What are you waiting for, register to join now (it's free): CLICK HERE

Author Topic: Unfair medical separation  (Read 4213 times)

Offline Greg

• Posting Member
  • PC Status: Friend
Unfair medical separation
« on: April 10, 2014, 08:03:23 PM »
I need help. My son was  unfairly separated today for flimsy medical reasons with just 1 year left to go. I should know as I am a Board Certified physician. We will appeal but the bureaucracy is intimidating. Please advise.

Offline Steve S

• Leading Member
  • PC Status: RPCV
Re: Unfair medical separation
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2014, 08:23:06 AM »
This, and other separations can get complicated upon "appeal". In my very limited experience the Peace Corps staff routinely uses separation. If it is a medical matter of for example days away from site or recovery time frames successful appeals may be difficult. On the other hand, with one year of service your family's cost-benefit analysis of "quality of life" considerations might be more important than "fairness".
Steve

Offline Jeff

• Forum Hero
    • Doing it Twice
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2014, 12:51:28 PM »
For people who weren't deathly ill, there were usually two reasons that people received a medical separation (which came accompanied by 'flimsy' reason) where I was serving:

1) They did not think the cost-benefit to them was in their favor due to the difficulty of getting medical care for something that here would be considered routine.  What is and isn't available would obviously vary by country, but as an example, when I served someone had to have a wisdom tooth extracted and they had to FLY her 6 hours to the closest place for treatment that met whatever standards they set...but that was back before budgets were an issue, so they probably wouldn't do that now, and may have in fact medically separated her.