What are you waiting for, register to join now (it's free): CLICK HERE

Author Topic: Outfitting Advice?  (Read 1946 times)

Offline PCThumbs

• Posting Member
  • PC Status: Applicant
Outfitting Advice?
« on: May 05, 2014, 09:03:37 AM »
I'll be serving in Liberia later this year.

Does anyone have any advice on must-have items to bring. Recommendations (or mistakes-made) regarding: cameras. laptops. culinary equipment. hygiene. boots. pants. backpacks. Solar battery chargers.

Things you wished you had brought but didn't think of?

Specific brands would be nice, but general advice will be very helpful.
I have some backpacking experience, but not for 2 years without day-to-day western items.

Thank you much!

Offline SmithNB21

• Posting Member
Re: Outfitting Advice?
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2014, 12:16:02 PM »
check out promotive's website. They handle the Pro Deals for various outfitters. You upload your PC acceptance letter and you can get really good deals on stuff. Other various companies offer their own Pro Deals (Chacos, Exofficio, Keen), but this site allows for a simple and organized way to look at a bunch of different stuff. FYI.

Offline shawn

• Forum Champion
    • Pack.It.Up Adventures
  • PC Status: RPCV
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2014, 10:39:44 PM »
I can give a few tips:

For solar panels and the like, check out Goal Zero (http://www.goalzero.com/). Their products aren't cheap, but they ARE worth it. I used of the Sherpa rigs every day for over a year without fail. You can definitely find cheaper solar gear, but it will be just that; cheap.