Author Topic: Peace Corp RESPONSE, Anyone?  (Read 9250 times)

Offline Ediakaran

• Posting Member
  • PC Status: Friend
Peace Corp RESPONSE, Anyone?
« on: May 23, 2014, 09:34:09 AM »
I would love to get feedback from Peace Corps-RESPONSE returned Volunteers. Iíve been checking their website for years but the only thing that I see are the opening opportunities but no stories about what Peace Corp Response Volunteers are doing and actual experiences. Iíve considered this option for a while even though Iíve never been in the Peace Corps; the only thing that is stopping me of venturing into this is that upon return from the assignment the volunteers are not eligible for non-competitive eligibility (NCE) and since I currently have a federal job it would be difficult to quit and just try to get back without the non-competitive privilege. I have more than 10 years of professional experience in science including teaching and Iíve done long term volunteering abroad which based on what Iíve seen in their openings, are highly desirable characteristics for future applicants. Anyways, if anyone would like to share their experiences as a Returned Peace Corp Response Volunteer, Please share!

Offline Jeff

• Forum Hero
    • Doing it Twice
  • PC Status: RPCV
Re: Peace Corp RESPONSE, Anyone?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2014, 03:08:18 PM »
One option, although it can be difficult to get approved, is to apply for an extended Leave Without Pay for the period you are serving.  If you can manage to get that approved, the agency you work for is required to hold a position for you at the same grade in the same locality.  It does have some impact on benefits, but those are usually mitigated by the fact that Peace Corps provides you with many benefits anyway.

Jeff.
Jeff
RPCV - Ghana, 03-05
PCV - Macedonia, 15-17

Offline RPCVro

• Leading Member
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2014, 08:15:08 AM »