What are you waiting for, register to join now (it's free): CLICK HERE

Author Topic: High school student  (Read 2532 times)

Offline Highschoolhopeful

• Posting Member
  • PC Status: Friend
High school student
« on: October 20, 2014, 08:33:31 PM »
Hi, as I am sure you guys can tell by the title and my username, I am a high school student (junior). I started being interested in the Peace Corps when I was 11 and now it is part of my plan for after college. The problem is I tend to overplan things and think too much about the future. I am not able to take any true steps toward this goal until senior of college but I was wondering if there were any steps you guys might recommend for figuring out whether or not I should actually join. Or any activities that might relate to qualities associated with the Peace Corps (volunteering, cultural immersion, ect.). Any thing you wish you had done or considered before signing up? Also, was joining the Peace Corps a long term plan for any of you or did you not consider it until later. I realize that things change and I may not be able to do it for different reasons in 6 years but I just wanted to get some information from those who are part of it. Thank you very much for your time.

Offline koji

• Forum Hero
    • Transitions in the East
  • PC Status: RPCV
Re: High school student
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2014, 06:03:35 AM »
Absolutely there are things you can do to prepare and to see if it is something you will like doing. Have you heard of AmeriCorps? They have plenty of youth programs that you can do during the summer as a high school or college student. You can also look into various conservation corps, which usually have high school programs during the summer for 4-8 weeks.