What are you waiting for, register to join now (it's free): CLICK HERE

Author Topic: Qualifications for Community Economic Development?  (Read 3441 times)

Offline mk1615

• Posting Member
  • PC Status: Applicant
Qualifications for Community Economic Development?
« on: October 29, 2014, 11:01:46 AM »
I plan to apply next month for positions in the Community Economic Development sector. I have a masters degree in Accounting (CPA), 7 years work experience across External Audit, Consumer Insights, Finance & Marketing. I have volunteered as a financial literacy instructor for both children & adults and currently volunteer at an urban garden project doing construction & gardening projects. I do not have any documented language skills.

Trying to understand if I'll be considered a competitive applicant? If not, what else would I need?

Any insight is greatly appreciated!

fishman

Re: Qualifications for Community Economic Development?
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2014, 02:54:15 PM »
I am currently applying to work in the Healthcare field, but I fix computers for a living. They wanted to put me into an IT field, but I was adamant about being in Healthcare. I was told that I need to gain experience in other fields like the Health sector. I am working on gaining that experience. Based on my experience, I think they place you based on your qualifications/career, so you kind of have to be assertive and tell them what you want to do. I'd speak with your placement officer. Again, this is just my experience as an applicant

Offline mk1615

• Posting Member
  • PC Status: Applicant
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2014, 08:29:42 AM »
Yes, in initial conversations I was told that my experience would be great for CED, but that I should gain English teaching experience or "Healthcare" experience so that I would be qualified for more roles. However, I want to do CED (Business Development/Advising), so I was a little confused by that response.