What are you waiting for, register to join now (it's free): CLICK HERE

Author Topic: Questions galore (and more!)  (Read 1866 times)

Offline Thea

• Posting Member
  • PC Status: Applicant
Questions galore (and more!)
« on: November 03, 2014, 06:01:17 PM »
Howdy Peace Corps Forum,
I'm a high school student who has been dreaming of serving in the Peace Corps forever-ish. Shockingly, :) I have a few burning questions

1. I was born with an eye condition. I have to treat it nightly with this nonprescription ointment stuff that isn't considered a drug. The condition doesn't interfere with any aspect of my life except the fact that my eyes look funny when they're closed. I know that Peace Corps can be strict about medical issues. Would they reject me because of something medical just because it exists, or would it only be if I had a medical issue that would interfere with my safety?
2. If I want to begin service between spring and fall of 2020, when should I start my application?
3. Can I select location preferences based on factors other than specific regions? If I'm interested in a certain language, climate, or level of rustic-ness, will there be a point where I can voice that?

I hope to serve after I finish my undergrad degree by 2020, and before then I want to do everything I can to be a strong applicant and hopefully a good volunteer.
By 2020, I'll have done a bunch of service-y things that I'm really passionate about that I think Peace Corps would like. What are they looking for? What else can I do?
I've started these things: Raising more than 3 puppies for Guide Dogs for the Blind, volunteering at an after school program for youth who are refugees, two summers of sustainability-education focused service in internationally, volunteer peer educator for Planned Parenthood, in which I teach elementary through high school students accurate, comprehensive age appropriate information on sexual health.