What are you waiting for, register to join now (it's free): CLICK HERE

Author Topic: Interested in Applying to Peace Corps, Not Sure if my Credentials Will Help  (Read 3110 times)

Offline DasGeneral

• Posting Member
  • PC Status: Applicant
Hey Everyone,

So as you can tell from my location, I'm currently living and working outside Hefei in Anhui Province, China. I've been living and working here for the past two years as an Oral English teacher at a small foreign language university, the Anhui Foreign Languages University. I'm finishing up my second and final year here in June and I'm putting in for grad programs involved with the Masters International program. I'm a little concerned about my credentials. I have a 120 hour TEFL and two years of classroom teaching experience at my university, I've been writing and teaching my own lesson plans for two years, all the usual jazz of a language instructor here. I've been involved with several campus clubs, including two of the English language clubs, and helped with a few of the speech contests and film/TV dubbing contests they put on every year as a judge and a coach for the students participating. I'm not exactly in an urban setting, my university is about an hour outside the outskirts of Hefei. We're surrounded by farmland and small Chinese villages, though that all is changing pretty quickly out here! I have a BA in History, most of the way to an MA in History I had to abandon due to some personal issues with my ex-fiancee about three years ago before I came to China, and I'll be enrolled in an MA program at the time of my application to PC.