What are you waiting for, register to join now (it's free): CLICK HERE

Author Topic: Member Profile - Shawn  (Read 3365 times)

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Forum Champion
  • PC Status: RPCV
Member Profile - Shawn
« on: November 09, 2013, 01:13:05 PM »
On the Peace Corps Forum one of our users goes by the username of shawn.  Here is a little bit about him...

Tell us about yourself: My name is Shawn.  I am from Prior Lake, Minnesota.  I graduated from the University of Minnesota at Duluth in 2010 with a Bachelors of Arts in Communication and worked on and off as an Audio Technician and Live Sound Engineer in the greater Twin Cities prior to joining Peace Corps in late 2010

How did you became interested in the Peace Corps? Iíve always been into serving communities and people. The idea of the Peace Corps to me sounded awesome because I could help people who really need it in my own ways. Plus, the idea of gaining a better understanding of the world is a huge plus.

Tell us about your Peace Corps Service: I am currently a Peace Corps Volunteer Leader (PCVL) in Rwanda.  I arrived here in October of 2010 as an Education Volunteer for Math and Sciences. I served in Cyahinda, a village in southern Rwanda on the Burundi border. Primarily, I taught 8th grade Math and 11th/12th grade Computer Literacy, but my second year I focused mainly on ICT and technology education. I extended in November of 2012 to serve as the Peace Corps Volunteer Leader (PCVL) for Rwanda. Now, in my third year of service, I mostly work with Volunteer support, training logistics, and fostering technology integration. I also coordinate Volunteerism for kLab (Knowledge Lab) here in Rwanda, a hackerspace designed to incubate and foster local companies and IT solutions.