What are you waiting for, register to join now (it's free): CLICK HERE

Author Topic: The restless wait from interview to invitation..  (Read 2431 times)

Offline talofa

• Posting Member
  • PC Status: Applicant
The restless wait from interview to invitation..
« on: April 07, 2016, 12:46:43 PM »
Hey all, this is my first post on the PCF. I am an applicant for Samoa, departing October 2016.

I made it all the way through the interview process and I've been waiting since late March (only about 2 weeks ago, actually), but I'm getting super restless! Our application deadline was for April 1st, but I heard that (at least one) invitation has gone out before then! The position I'm applying for is English Resource Teacher and I am exceedingly confident that this is my next chapter in life--but then again, who are we do decide? Sometimes, life has its own agenda.

Anyhow. I have been working in the Education sector for the past 6-7 years. I have been a volunteer, who eventually became the Director of an after-school youth community program I was volunteering for in the West Side of Chicago. After leaving there, I worked in Chicago Public Schools through a non-profit where I co-taught reading/language arts as well as tutor ELL students. I also coordinated all the recess activities, coached girls basketball, and put on community field days. Now, I work in Chicago Public Schools, keeping the same duties I had as a Coordinator for the non-prof, but I'm also the technology coordinator at our school. I've built up years of experience leading up to my POTENTIAL peace corps endeavor, but the waiting is getting to me! For some reason, I feel really disempowered and I guess to put it simply, I'm doubting myself a lot! I feel like I've been "passed up." Anyone else feeling this way? I guess I'm just looking for people to let me know I'm not going crazy.