What are you waiting for, register to join now (it's free): CLICK HERE

Author Topic: Still doing the overseas thang after 30 years  (Read 4641 times)

Offline markdripchak

• Posting Member
    • Dealing with the World
  • PC Status: RPCV
Still doing the overseas thang after 30 years
« on: November 23, 2013, 04:03:13 AM »
I served in Honduras (1983-85) and Paraguay (1986-89), working in community-based watershed management and agroforestry systems, respectively.  Our Honduras group recently commemorated the 30th anniversary of our departure from the US and our start of service.  Since finishing the second stint in Paraguay, the longest I've spent in the US was while I got my graduate degree, but even that was peppered with contracts overseas (Honduras, Mexico and Haiti).  I've since gone on to live and work in another eight countries, and now call Madagascar "home."

My PC experience really ignited my desire to learn.  One of the most important lessons was that of cross-cultural sensitivity.  While I'm probably not the most sensitive guy around, it quickly became clear to me that there were (and always are) many more of "them" than there is of me.  Hence, regardless of how important what I have to show them might be, I stand to learn a lot more that I'll ever teach.

Offline Marion

• Administrator
  • Forum Champion
  • Botswana (2011-2013)
Re: Still doing the overseas thang after 30 years
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2013, 06:23:35 AM »
I served late in life and I am sure that if I had served when I was young, right out of college, my life would have gone in a completely different direction.  Living and working overseas opens your eyes to the many international opportunities.  It also shakes you up and you realize that there is a whole world out there with places to see and work and interesting people.